Making Lemonade

And happy Valentine's week!

“Find the good and praise it.”

—Alex Haley

Hello again and happy Valentine’s week! ❣️ 

I hope you’re having a great week so far!

Since this newsletter currently goes out every other week, and I know you may have subscribed originally to hear about my book and author news, I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention that next Saturday, February 24, marks the 46th anniversary of the Waverly Train Disaster of 1978, the history of which is chronicled in detail in my book, Walk through Fire: The Train Disaster that Changed America.

As terrible a tragedy as it was, the lessons learned in Waverly resulted in remarkable changes, both nationally and globally. It revolutionized the railroad industry from top to bottom; ushered in a new era in first-responder training, emergency management, and disaster response; improved hazmat handling and established new training standards; and even catalyzed the formation of FEMA!

It changed this country for the better, in important ways that continue to this day, 46 years later.

Now that’s Positive Vibes.

Warm regards,

Yasmine

What I’m Feeling Good About

Thank you to the Lewisburg Study Club for hosting me last Saturday! It was such a pleasure speaking to you all via Zoom!

Photo by Patti Damesworth

I’ve also been honored to have Walk through Fire selected as the Book of the Month by the Aspiring Emergency Managers Online (AEMO) Library:

Additionally, MDLinx listed Walk through Fire as one of the “5 Great Reads to Ring in the New Year”!

What You’re Feeling Good About

You probably know the saying: “When life gives you lemons, make lemonade.” That is Positive Vibes thinking, for sure!

Well, my neighbor Mark literally focuses on both, starting with the lemons. He nurtures his Meyer lemon tree year-round, dragging it outside and back inside depending upon the seasons, all for the payoff that happens just once a year: his lemon harvest.

This harvest happened over the past two weeks, and I was the lucky recipient of two Meyer lemons! And let me tell you: fresh Meyer lemons, just fallen from the tree, are absolutely delicious. There’s nothing else like them.

One of my many uses for Mark’s Meyer lemons. ;)

Mark finds all kinds of wonderful uses for them, too, including his signature lemon icebox pie and his skillet chicken:

I am working on getting the recipe for this one!

(This section is where I’ll be featuring good news from readers—so please reply to this email and share some with me! It can be anything, big or small. Whatever you’re feeling good about.)

Birthday Vibes

I’ve heard from many in the Positive Vibes community who have February birthdays, and I’m happy to be a February baby myself!

Happy birthday to all who are celebrating this month! Here’s something just for you:

More Good News

If you’ve ever been involved in animal rescue or welfare in any way, you know how rare and incredible this is:

I love it: “Age is just a number”!

And since we’re on the topic of lemons this time … Maybe you can sell just about anything? 😂 

Staying on the Sunny Side

You might consider this a “crossover event” from my other newsletter, Speak for the Heart, because I featured this article (brought to my attention by Patti, who is a reader of both newsletters) there last week. It’s definitely relevant to the Positive Vibes community as well. How many of these can you say “yes” to?

Pawsitive Vibes

This picture was sent in by Positive Vibes community member Mary Margaret, who also happens to have a February birthday. This is her one-year-old Borkie Poo (Beagle/Yorkie/Poodle mix), Maggie Mai.

(That makes her Mary Margaret’s Maggie Mai—say that five times fast!)

Maggie Mai

And, lest you think I’m forgetting the cats, here are pics of my sister Nadia’s cats, Mischief and Maya:

Mischief

Maya (who is just a few months old)

Got a pet pic you’d like to share? Please feel free to reply to this email!

Riddle Me This

What has many keys, but doesn’t unlock any (physical) doors?

Answer below, at the end of this newsletter.

Funny Times

For Your Playlist

Because it’s Valentine’s Week …

Last Word

Love is that condition in which the happiness of another person is essential to your own.

Robert A. Heinlein

Tell a Friend!

Know anyone who would enjoy this newsletter? Send them the link to subscribe for free: https://yasmine-ali-author.beehiiv.com/subscribe

Answer to the riddle: A piano.